Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I am new to the XDS world and forum and think I have finally stumbled on a gem! I have owned numerous Glocks and H&K's and never really had any interest in XD pistols until I decided to trade a full sized M&P 45 and had on offer with a XDS 45 3.3 with the recall work already performed plus a ton of extras and ammo. I searched the net and proceeded to read a bunch of posts on this forum and thought I would give it a shot...and man was I surprised at how much I liked this little 45 and even moreso how accurately I shot it! Recoil was very manageable!

So after a few range sessions I decided I may benefit from a slightly lighter pull and decided to attempt a PRP kit install (I have done lots of work on Glock pistols so how hard could it be right)...and after about 3 hours I finally got everything in place and it passed function check. Darn post recall grip safety and sear spring fit took 90% of the time to install...seems like every video I watched didn't have a good shot to show me what I needed to see...but James' written and photo instructions saved the day!

Now after a long introduction I finally get to my point...what specific ammo are you guys getting light primer strikes with the PRP spring kit installed in an XDS 45 3.3? I have run Tula 230 FMJ, Federal 230 HI-SHOK JHP 45D, and Hornady 45 AUTO +P 230 grain XTP with ZERO malfunctions before and after the PRP spring kit install. Is this just issue primarily associated with reloads?

I don't have access yet to a trigger gauge to measure the reduced pull but it seems to have lightened it about 1-2 lbs. and made it a little smoother. Does anyone know if Powder River has changed the springs it included due to the light primer strike claimed issues?