Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm somewhat new to the realm of firearm purchases from out of state, but what I was wondering is with regards to the purchase from out of state, what are the average costs in doing this?

I'm in PA and no one has any info on the XDM9 and I have found a place out of state that has one in stock. The local dealer told me that I pay...

...the price of the gun,
...the transfer from the seller,
...the transfer from the local shop,
...a pics charge,
...3% credit card fee (if applicable),
...another sort of processing fee,
...sales tax

The total transfer fees come out to about $110. That seems rather high for a firearm that's quoted below $600. Add all of the other fees and it's nearing the low to mid $700 range.

Does this sound normal, though? I really want to find this firearm soon but am growing impatient, too!

Thanks for the help, and hello all to the XD world (former Glock owner, moving to XD) :)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
"Pics charge"

What is that?! :confused:

Yeah I have never purchased an out of state weapon either...
Not a clue, they told me some sort of verification. I've never heard of it, but if you think about the total, say $600 base, plus $110, plus $20 cc fee, plus $40 tax, it's $750 buy the time it's done. That makes no sense to me, but am wondering if these extra fees are the norm.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Check with your credit card company, I am sure if the 3 percent upcharge for use of a credit card is proper/legal. I am aware a discount for cash can be used, but not a upcharge for use of the credit card.

·
Premium Member
792 Posts
The only fees that should be paid to the local shop is the transfer fee (completely up to them how much they charge) and any fees for required background checks or other state requirements.

The rest is up to who you are buying from.