Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm in the market for my first gun and after holding a bunch in my hand and trying to absorb all the information, I do believe I'm falling for the XDM. I just wanted to get your opinions on whether this is a good choice for a first handgun. The grip felt good/secure in my hands even with the double stacked magazine which surprised me. I thought the slide was nice and smooth as well. What colors are there to pick from and how is the XDM better than the XD? I'm also considering a Smith M&P and would like your thoughts on that too. I've decided to go with 9mm. Thanks in advance for your advice and please be kind as I'm just learning this stuff. ;) ~Michelle

·
Premium Member
4,823 Posts
It doesn't matter the opinions of others.

Go to a range where a variety of guns in question that you like is always helpful.

I choose one that always points ( the sights line up ) every time the pistol is presented. Feels good in my hand is a must.

The colors, other than having it power coated, or duracoated which would be any color.
Most common color for the XDm is black, Stainless Steel ( bi-tone), green, or nickel plated..

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I understand there are a million opinions out there, but when I get new opinions, they often bring up issues I was unaware of. Then I decide what's important to me. Being my first gun, I'm not sure what my priorities are yet. I had one dealer have me lower then lift the weapons quickly to compare sights, but I'm still not sure what I'm looking for. My husband and I are just trying to narrow down the field, then we'll go shoot my favorites and decide then. Thanks for your help!

·
21,874 Posts
If you cant rent out the guns atleast go to the store and hold them. See which fits your hands best *cough *cough 1911 *cough *cough. ;)

·
Registered
77 Posts