Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,518 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a shooting noob, but tend to be relatively accurate. Shot several weapons in a short period of time, and this is the first one that I'm consistently off in one direction. 1911 was all over the map, and so was a glock. So, it could be me, but I'm kinda doubting it. I tend to exhibit no identifiable pattern.

Back to my XDM, at 25' I'm shooting 2-3" left of center. My youngest was doing the same thing. I used the Sellier and Bellot Police Ammo that was on sale at Cabela's. I found it to be hot, bought a box of Federal to take back to the range next week.

At what point do I make the decision to adjust the sight, and how much would it move to correct the error? We're going through CCW class next Saturday, maybe have the instructor run a few round through it?

·
Registered
931 Posts
you say you are a "shooting noob", but you tend to be accurate. then you say with the 1911 and glock you are all over the place.

this kinda contradicts you being accurate.

some pointers:

need to focus on grip, trigger control. Those are the two MOST common problems with shooting, especially the XD. You can probably find over 1M threads related to this topic.

Look online (or on this forum) for the pistol correction chart to help diagnose your shooting problems.

Lastly, you can bench test/shoot your pistol to ensure it is not the gun. 99.99999% chance it is NOT the gun

·
Registered
11,292 Posts
Springfield XD: Shoots where ya point it.

·
Registered
806 Posts
I've had my XDm for 2 years and I have put 10,000 rounds thru it in that time. It always shot a "smidge" left. Which I believed was fine and completely my fault. I had a regional match coming up last saturday so I said "the heck with it" and I asked my local gun smith to drift my rear sight just a bit to the right.(moving the point of impact to the right also)