Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I am new to the sight and have been looking at getting a xdm or some caliber. I think I am leaning towards the 9mm. I was wondering what some of your thoughts were to which you prefer! This is a very cool site and am glad I found it! Thanks in advance!:D

·
Registered
8 Posts
I bought the 9mm. I use it for home defense and for range fun.

If you are going to use the firearm for strictly range purposes, I would recommend the 9mm. It is cheaper, and slightly easier to shoot.

If you want to use the firearm for home defense, or CC I would recommend the .40. It has more stopping power. Some would argue that the added stopping power is necessary and some will argue that shot placement is the key.

I fired both weapons before I purchased the 9mm, they are not that much different. I chose the 9mm because I knew I was going to put A LOT of rounds through it and I wanted to save a bit of cash.

·
Registered
565 Posts
If it is meant for the range and target shooting, I would recommend the 9mm.

If it is for self-defense, then I would recommend that one that you can shoot best. Not only single shot placement, but the one that you can shoot at least two accurate double taps quicky.

Good Luck And Be Safe!!!
:cool:

·
Registered
62 Posts
If most police officers carry a .380 or. 25auto as backup why the hell is 9mm not good enough for stopping power I say. For lots of shooting 9mm way to go.

·
Registered
11,293 Posts
Welcome to the Forum from Texas! :D

All pistols in my inventory are of the .40 S&W flavor. I have lots of confidence in them as a so called "stopper" However....I spend ALLOT of time on the range, and the cost of the .40 is significantly greater than a 9mm, thus will be purchasing my first 9mm here in the next month or less.