Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was all set to buy a Glock 34 to go with my Glock 21 and 30 and a local gun salesman asked if I had looked at the Springfield XDM 5.25. I am relatively new to handgun shooting (shoot quite a bit of long range centerfire benchrest) however I've found I shoot the Glock's much better than any other handgun - I think it's the same trigger pull weight each time. I've performed some research on the XDM and it sounds like a very nice gun (I really like the bitone appearance). I would appreciate thoughts on how these 2 guns stack up against each other.

Thanks much!!

·
Registered
2,741 Posts
I don't have an XDM 5.25 but have a G34 and would say if you can, shoot the XDM 5.25. I've only handled one, dry fired the XDM and preferred the Glock trigger but I would say it could go either way depending on preference. Of course I also have two G17's and 20+ G17 mags so the G34 worked for me.

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
I'd recommend renting them each and try them out before purchasing either. The XDm 5.25, Glock 34 and M&P Pro are pretty popular among the folks shooting USPSA, IDPA, etc. as they're pretty much designed with the gun games in mind.

I rented each before I picked up my 9mm XDm. I found the XDm worked best for me. You stated you shoot your Glocks well so you'll probably find the 34 to be a great shooter for you. Nothing wrong with any of the 3 guns I listed...just have to find what works for you. The 34, to me has a better trigger and is cheaper to upgrade versus the 5.25.

·
Registered
717 Posts
I fired a G34 and was not impressed. Just ordered a XDm 5.25 today.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Having owned both, it's a tough call. The trigger advantage definitely goes to the Glock. I don't mind the the XDm trigger but it is a bit more mushy.
Accuracy is equal IMO but if you shoot a Glock better, I would go with that.