Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just purchased a XDm 5.25 thats heading to the SA Custom Shop. Application is production gun competition. Following is a list of mods I'm thinking she needs:

Competition trigger job

Extended mag release

Thinner front sight (from 0.145 to 0.100)

And thats all. Thoughts?

·
Registered
342 Posts
That's lots of changes. Have you fired her? Are you at the competition level of a Rob Leatham? Future owners would like to know?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I brougt her home yesterday, did a quick clean and lube last night, ran 200 rounds this morning, and plan to ship Monday. Aside from the trigger, she's a honey right out of the box.

The trigger is better than any other XDm I have shot, but not great. SA Custom Shop does a great job, and I consider a requirement.

I just started shooting pistols a little over a year ago, but I am hooked now.

·
Premium Member
128,276 Posts
Personally, I wouldn't do any mods until I had run at least 500 rounds through it.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That's a fair point. I'm in a hurry to get her shipped off since wait time is over 6 weeks, but I'm better off running a few more boxes through to make sure she's worth the mod money.

·
Registered
353 Posts
Speaking as a current IDPA shooter and the owner of 3 XDMs I would change the trigger on all of my XDMs in a heartbeat.

I have shot the 5.25 and agree, it needs a better trigger. I am using the PRP Tactical trigger currently and am very happy with it.

The front sight on the 5.25 is large and easy to pickup. I would not change it at all.

Unless you have a problem releasing the mag, I wouldnt change the release either. I would rather have a button I can hit and eject over a button that I may accidentally hit and eject. From what I have seen on the extended releases, they do not appeal to me.