Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Forewarning, I'm not very good with "gun" talk so I'll try my best at this..

I've noticed after I recently cleaned my slide that the striker indicator no longer comes out after I release the slide lock, with or without a mag loaded. The chamber indicator works fine when a round is in place, just not the striker indicator.

For the striker indicator to pop out normally now I have to hold the slide back after I release the lock with my thumb and let it go manually with my hand which has a more "gentle" lock.. It seems that when I just release the slide with my thumb it hits so hard that the striker doesnt engage. It only works on a manual slide release.. I hope I'm making sense but I'll try and get a pic/video up to detail it better.

Anyone have this issue before? It seems like it should be an easy fix as I've already put over 1000 rounds through this with no problems before, cleaned it the same way as I have previously. I'm just wondering if its something so obvious I'm missing. :confused:

fyi I'm using FrogLube as my CLP.

·
Registered
2,371 Posts
Have you cleaned out the striker channel? I would go beyond just a field strip to clean it and see if there is some gunk in the striker channel?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Have you cleaned out the striker channel? I would go beyond just a field strip to clean it and see if there is some gunk in the striker channel?
Yea, clean as a whistle as well. The striker pushes in easily and pops back up with no issues, and has good resistance with the striker spring when I manually push the striker back/out. I typically do a full slide disassemble when I do my cleaning.. pop out the striker back plate, pin, springs, etc.

·
Registered
216 Posts
Did you disassemble any of the frame components to clean it? When you doe release the slide "manually" and the striker indicator works properly, is the trigger pull the same?