Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.. I'm new to this forum and looking for a little advice. I'm a novice shooter, going to purchase either an XD9 SC or XD40 SC this Saturday 03-12 and I'm looking for opinions on the guns (b/c no XD's are avail for rental at any of my local ranges). I've shot the Ruger P95 and Glock 19 9 mm's before, and can handle the recoil very easily. I've shot Beretta & Smith&Wesson .40's before (don't know exact model #'s) and could handle the recoil easily. I've however had trouble with the recoil on Glock 22 and Glock 23 .40's, and w/ the 23 I was not very accurate.. I tended to shoot down and to the left. It was my first time shooting, though. I'm wondering how the recoil on the 3" SA XD40 compares. I'm definitely set on the SubCompact so I'm looking to get peoples' opinions on the .40's recoil and ability reposition on the target quickly as compared to the 9mm's. At the gun stores I've been to, I hear non-stop about how the 9mm is a far inferior personal defense round and each clerk seems to have a different story to tell me about some guy they know or have seen get shot in the chest with a 9mm and get up and walk away. On these forums, though, I tend to hear more balanced opinions about the 9mm vs .40 debate, and that, coupled with the effect of recoil on a novice shooter -- I'd like to know what you all would suggest. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
248 Posts
I would buy the 9mm if you are a novice shooter. I just traded my
xd-40 4" for a sub xd-40. I shot a 9mm sub before getting my sub. I figure the muzzle flip would not be a problem because I also have a 3" kimber ultra carry (.45). Thinking back, I prefer shooting the 9mm vs my .40 . The sub .40 is a little harder to shoot than the 4" service model.

The sub .40 is till very accurate. It's not my carry gun because I haven't found a holster for it yet. As soon as I find a holster, I will alternate between it and the Kimber.