Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, This is my first of many post's to come. I am new to this site and excited at the amount of information here.

I purchased an XD-9 last year and have only been out a couple of times to shoot it. I noticed it shot way left and I understand about me maybe causing that. I had the night sights installed at Springfield when I purchased the weapon and have since noticed the front sight is not even close to being centered. I thought about sending it to Springfield to correct but my job keeps me OCONUS 8 months out of the year. I make my living as a mechanic so I have the skills needed to adjust the sight. I would appreciate any info such as tips on adjusting them, specific tool recomended, etc.

Thanks in advance

TYBOY

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Call Springfield Armory, get a Return Authorization, and send the slide back.

My wife's new, out-of-the-box XD-9SC arrived with Trijicon night sights; the front sight was so loose it would slide out of the dovetail, and the rear sight was installed touching the left index line.

The slide was returned in 12 days turnaround time with a new front sight. They did not address the rear sight issue, since I had not had a chance to verify its accuracy at the range. It, of course, shot waaaaay left when I did sight it in. The gunsmith at the range was able to use a sight pusher to properly align the rear sight between the slide's index lines, and it's dead on now.

This forum has had a large volume of posts concerning issues regarding the improper alignment of SA factory installed sights. Whereas their customer service is second to none, I would suggest their quality control could use some improvement.

·
Premium Member
17,523 Posts
Welcome to the forum..

A lot of new XD shooters shoot the XD low and left at first (me included).
Well, low and left if you're right handed.