Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Explain to me why you bought a Tactical in .45ACP.

I eventually want to get a Tactical but I don't understand why someone would buy one in .45. Excuse my ignorance as I'm still fairly new to firearms.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
140 Posts

I eventually want to get a Tactical but I don't understand why someone would buy one in .45. Excuse my ignorance as I'm still fairly new to firearms.

Thanks in advance
I like full size guns. And the balance of the fs vs the short or med just fits me better. A bit better muzzle volocity too.

·
Registered
75 Posts
I can actually carry this gun, since I carry OWB. Had to retrain a tad to lift my arm higher, but it works. Finding a holster was hard, though. Ended up with a belt slide.

I also like to do IPSC. For that, I wanted the Tactical for its longer sight radius. The .45 because it can knock down those poppers.

Instead of buying two guns, I bought one.

·
Premium Member
355 Posts
I own a Tactical model (45 ACP) as well as Service (45 ACP) and Sub-Compact (9mm) and like all of them. I'm a big fan of the 45 given its ballistics and stopping power. That's my preferred caliber for any handgun. The Tactical is more accurate and felt recoil seems to be lower than the other 45 (though not as low as my heavier 1911s) . In addition, using my carry ammo, I get a bit more out of the Tactical model but that's marginal and not really a consideration. Also, since I like to carry my gun with the Surefire light attached, the difference between the Service and Tactical barrel is not relevant, as the light makes it about 5" anyway.