Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello -

This is my first post out here.

I'm no pro by any means, but I know a bit about handguns and have owned a few over the years. I owned an XD 9MM for quite a while and I loved it. I shot well with it out of the gate. I recently upgraded to an XD .45 4" Service Model. This is the first gun I've purchased without trying it out first. I just figured it would be like my 9MM, only more expensive every trigger pull.

I am shooting way low and to the left. I should have taken some pics of the grouping to show you guys, but at about 25 feet or so, aiming for dead center on a silhouette target, I repeatedly blew off what would have been the targets right hip.

My buddy was shooting his new Glock 9MM Gen 4 (can never remember their model numbers), and he gave me two clips to squeeze off, and not changing my stance or grip, I was shooting right where I was aiming.

I've seen lots of posts with folks with this problem, and a lot say it has to do with the stance or pulling up on the gun or squeezing the trigger too hard. I was thinking it was me, but shot fine with the glock and with my XD9 prior to the .45. Is it something inherent to a .45, or is something not right with the gun? I also tried another kind of ammo while I was there. Same weight (230) and rated fps, just different brand, and shot the same. Would lighter ammo make a difference?

I saw older posts that said SA was putting the wrong sights on some guns for a while, but that was several years ago. The spent casing that came with the gun was dated just last month, so I know it's not old stock or anything.

I am left handed if that has any impact on anybody's input.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

·
Registered
9,959 Posts
It's you, the Glock and XD are different animals. Going from a 9 to a 45 could be throwing you out of whack. Try shooting left hand I bet you suddenly stop shooting low and left.

·