Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, I bought my first springfield the other day and it happened to be a XD-9 with night sights and I love it. I am not used to these types of sights because I am used to the 3 red dot sights alot of guns have. (im a novice shooter) I love this gun but I cant seem to hit with it very well. I know its me and not the gun. When I aim it, am I supposed to line up the rear dot exactly with the front dot or do I line them up with the front dot raised slightly? thanks

·
Registered
10,955 Posts
Line all 3 dots up in a straight line and then according to the manual, use the 6 o-clock hold, meaning, put the bullseye on top of the center dot. Now for my own personal sub, I line up all 3 dots and cover the bullseye with my center dot (front sight).

·
Registered
109 Posts
I find my point of impact is exactly where the front dot is, when lined up in a row with the rear sight. Make sure the rear sight is even on both sides and not shoved over left/right like mine was from the factory.

I also just found out (being new to XD ownership) that the gun is VERY sensitive to how you pull the trigger and type of ammo. If you have a bad flinch, it'll group about 8" at 10 yards. Also try and use CCI Blazers instead of WWB...more accurate.

·
Registered
81 Posts
+ 1 on the CCI ammo and I also like to use POI for a sight picture. Like Paper Tiger says, the XD trigger takes some getting used to due to the Glock-stye safety and the extremely heavy trigger pull. I just sent my 4" 9mm to Springfield Custom for a competition action job with a 3.5 lb. trigger pull. My SA 1911 has a 3.5 lb. pull and it really improved my accuracy with that pistol.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I just put Trijicon's on my XD 40 Tactical, and the 6 o'clock sight picture hits where aim. In other words, you have to aim dead on what you want to hit, at least with my gun you do.