Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I'm new to the XD and most guns in general.. I've done some searching and from what I've found the .40 can be converted into a 9mm. Is this correct?

If so, what would the price range to do this and how easy is it to swap the barrells back and fourth?

I ask because I'm looking at a XD 9mm, but if I can have a 2 in 1 by buying the XD .40 I'm thinking why not?!

Thanks!

·
Registered
34 Posts
What are the three little flutes on the end of the 9mm tac barrel at that link?

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
They are ported pistol barrels.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Are the .40 tac barrels all ported? What if you don't have a ported slide? I just thought that was unusual.

·
Registered
34 Posts
No, you can't. If you buy a 9mm, that's what you've got, with no options. Only the 357 and 40 can be converted to another size.

·
Registered
116 Posts
To get the maximum versatility out of your pistol, I would get the XD 40, and a 9mm conversion, and maybe a .357 sig conversion. The slide for the 40 has a larger hole in the front to accomadate the larger diameter barrel for the 40 S&W round. So you can go from a 357 or a 40 to a 9mm, but not the other way around

Edit : Sorry about the double info Crit, I didn't see your post

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Awesome guys! Thanks for the info!

I think I'll go with the .40 and get the conversion down the road..

·
Registered
32 Posts
Silentknight said:
To get the maximum versatility out of your pistol, I would get the XD 40, and a 9mm conversion, and maybe a .357 sig conversion. The slide for the 40 has a larger hole in the front to accomadate the larger diameter barrel for the 40 S&W round. So you can go from a 357 or a 40 to a 9mm, but not the other way around

Edit : Sorry about the double info Crit, I didn't see your post
I was under the impression you could get a .357 -=> .40 conversion as well?

·
Registered