Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post so I'm sorry if this topic has been covered previously, but what are the suggested upgrades for the XD and also what are some upgrades i can do on my own. This is my first "real" handgun, i don't count my Davis P380 throwaway, so i have some limited experience.
I bought my XD 45 used, looks almost brand new and appears to have no mods.
Thanks for any threads or suggestions

·
Premium Member
3,762 Posts
The XD45acp Service model is a pistol on its own frame design. It has nothing in common with any of the other XD models and so nothing is interchangeable except for magazines and the slide and barrel from a 5" tactical model.

Since the gun is so proprietary there are only a few upgrades yet available for this model. There are a few you can do yourself. Sight changes are not recommended to do yourself without a lot of knowledge and care. They are on there really tight!!

Trigger jobs can be done by a professional or "semi" drop in trigger parts can be purchased through PISTOLGEAR | YOUR ONE-STOP SHOP FOR ALL THINGS PISTOL if you can do the slight fitting at home.

If you keep it as a 4" service you can choose from the following upgrades/modifications:

- Night sights

- Carry/combat/competition trigger job

- Grip modification such as stippling or grip tape

- Aftermarket barrel

- Custom coatings

- Tactical light mounted on rail

- Laser sight if desired

- Mag springs

- Mag well

- Custom or homebrew polishing of metal parts

·
Registered
144 Posts