Springfield XD Forum banner

Would you draw your weapon in this situation

• Yes

• NO

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
486 Posts
No. I would have apologized, even if I was right.

I might have been ready to kick his ass. Or call the police. But deadly force would not be justified in court (in my opinion).

You've got to be comfortable when people are talking ****, or threatening, and comfortable with your abilities and the situations you could get into.

If you choose to carry a gun, shouldn't you have thought about what do I do if someone is trying to hurt me but not kill me?

If I was open carrying, I would have used a holster with a good retention system, or would have taken a class on handgun retention, for just this reason.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Based on the 24 seconds of video...absolutely not. Walk away. Get out of there. But what does 24 seconds really show??? I know I'm new to this and have never OC'd or CC'd, but it seems pretty common sense that there are far better options than drawing...

But that's just based on this 24 seconds. Who knows what happened before hand or what happened after.

·
Registered
832 Posts
Like others have said, based on this 24 second clip, no I would not have drawn. But who knows what caused this argument to start (other than the picture of the guy), why it escalated like it did and what happened afterwards. How did he know he had a gun? Thats the real question. If he's open carrying, I can understand, but CC'ing, should be no way for the guy to know. You don't go running around saying "hey look at me, I've got a gun, dont mess with me!"

Take a couple steps back, get some distance and let him calm down. Tell him your sorry and that you will delete the photo. Should end the conflict right there. If not, you better be prepared to use what he already knows you have.

·
Registered
7,507 Posts