Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a newbie to the XD world but I am SOLD on buying one after handling one several times and reading threads on this forum.

My question is which one? 40 service or 9mm service?

I thought I wanted a .40 unitl I started reading posts about price of 40 ammo vs 9mm. I plan on shooting alot and thought why not just get a XD-9 then. Then I read the threads about 9mm barrels in 40's. But, why not just get a 9mm then. It doesnt make sense to shoot hundreds/thousands of rounds of 9mm, to then switch to 40 caliper for home defense when I wouldnt be familiar with the 40 ammo's recoil,etc.

Am I making this harder than it should be or should I just pay the extra price of 40 ammo and have the extra power?

Please help!

Thanks in advance.

Jay

·
Registered
25 Posts
I just bought my first gun. XD 9 tactical.
I went with 9mm because it's plenty for a defense round, and still a great target gun. I pay 11 bucks a box for WWB 115gr. and I keep 147gr hollow points at home.
I'm a little biased becasue I never considered a .40.
Just my 2 cents.
Have fun shopping!

·
Registered
209 Posts
Modern 9mm hollow point ammo will stop an attacker. Speer, Federal, Winchester all make awesome ammo in 9mm. 40 is probably a "better" caliber for self defensive shooting, but 9mm is certainly more than good enough.

Shot placement is the key to the whole "one stop shot" debate. I go with 9mm simply because the ammo is cheaper (and since I am buying ammo for both my wife and I, even a couple $$ a box adds up quickly) and we get more bang for our buck.

Either way, your getting an awesome pistol which will do its job very well.

·
Registered
233 Posts