Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Big time newbie here, long story short I bought my first gun about 2.5 months ago and realize I didn't make a wise choice for my needs (Anyone have an idea how much I can get for a Taurus PT92 SS w/600rds use at my local gun show in Ohio?).

I'm pretty torn as to which XD I would like to get (course if I had the money I'd by them all). I'm thinking XD 9 or 40 tactical (5" barrel). The only thing holding me back from the XD9 is I hear the usual "But it's not a man stopper". And the thing holding me back from the XD40 is that the additional cost of ammo does build up over time.

What's the intended use? Odds are I'm not going to need to use it in self defense. I've never felt the need to have a gun at home but it won't hurt to have access to it should something ever happen. I'd really like something fun to shoot (comfortable grip, ammo that isn't big $$$ and something that I can be a little accurate with and compete with against another friend from time to time). Sounds like I've pretty much got myself talked into the XD9 but what do you folks think? Or maybe I'm trying to cover too many bases with one gun.

Also, what are the benefits of the tactical model compared to the service model?

·
Registered
411 Posts
I would say xd9 , ammo is cheap it won't cost you a arm and a leg to shoot.

·
Registered
1,092 Posts