Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm making a deal with Bud's online to trade my rifle with them, and I have had my eyes set on an XDm 9mm. I've been offered $700, so that frees me up to get almost any XDm they have available, but I've got a question I think you guys may be able to help me with:

I'm a total novice, and this will be my first pistol ever, but I have shopped around for the last month and researched to decide to get an XD of some sort or another. I was intending to get a regular xd9 due to finances, but I'd always want the XDm too if I did settle on a standard xd, just because it's supposedly improved.

Since I have more than I thought I'd have to trade with, I started looking closer, and I may well be able to get the new 5.25" package for either an even trade or paying very little extra (haven't worked out the trade details just yet) and I don't know if I see a reason NOT to get that one, since I was already wanting an xdm 9mm anyhow, and this seems to be even better than the "standard" xdm.

So what my question boils down to is, is there any reason I SHOULDN'T go for the brand new 5.25 when I may well not have to pay more than the FFL fee? Should I get that or the 4.5" xdm 9 that I would have gotten before I realized I had more to work with in trade?

I don't know if people would advise against getting a competition gun for any reason, being a first time pistol owner and all, thinking maybe it's just "too advanced" for a newbie? I would figure, why not learn with the best, but I don't know much about it, which is why I'm asking you guys :)

·
Registered
431 Posts
From the looks of the new 5.25 and added features, I don't see how you could go wrong. Haven't seen it in person or shot one, but it looks like they did put some thought into it. I would get it!

·
Registered
1,226 Posts