Springfield XD Forum banner

Which gun should I get?

1K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  hobocircus 
#1 ·
I am a recent college graduate and am looking to start a career in law enforcment. The hiring process is so long and drawn out I have to wait about 6 months for the academy to start. I have led a sheltered life and have not had the opportunity to shoot many guns. I am wanting to get a handgun (and lessons) to help myself get ahead of the game before the academy begins. So, to get to my point I have been researching all different types of handguns and have determined I want an SA (I also give credit to this great forum). I am trying to determine whether or not to get a 9mm or a 40. My idea was to get the 40 and then get the 9 conversion barrel, so I can start out small and learn and then be able to move up, and was wondering if someone could help me with my decision making. I was also wondering, going into law enforcement, given the option I could carry my own gun which would be better the service or tactical modal? Thanks for your time!!

P.S. anyone know how reliable the conversion barrels are?

#2 ·
I recommend the 40 then get the conversion barrel.

Honestly, the 40 cal service model was my first gun ever, and I had no problem shooting with it accurately.

If you want to take something to the field, I still recommend the service model, just because it is lighter than the tactical.

plus it's sexier :)

-my 2 cents

#4 ·