Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 274 Posts

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do you also calculate your times value?

I work as a consultant and charge an hourly rate. So I know my times worth by the hour.

If I were to spend x hrs producing x bullets, after the cost of the materials and all, I dont think I could touch the price of just buying them.

Have any of you considered this or do you just not factor in your time at all?

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
obvioulsy your time is worth something, but one would assume you aren't missing work to reload. I think you have to look at it as an activity more than a chore.

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
obvioulsy your time is worth something, but one would assume you aren't missing work to reload. I think you have to look at it as an activity more than a chore.

that may be what I truly lack. anything of that sort is a chore IMO. Like working on the cars, house, whatnot.. I dont enjoy it but if its cheaper for me to do it, then I will..

The lawn for example, was cheaper for ppl to do it for me.. Now the wife decided she wanted to do it (I vowed early in life to never, as an adult, mow a lawn) so I bought her a nice mower and she takes care of it. By the end of the season we will be ahead financially since the service was costing me $60 a month.

I guess, just looking at the reloading (many people in our group of shooters constantly preach about it) I just cant see the investment + materials + time actually being worth it in the long run. Maybe if I made enough to sell and recoup, but all too often, we see people pulling the trigger and getting no bang or the round doesnt extract properly and whatnot and 9 times out of 10, it was a reload.

Many of my friends do it but I dont see the savings being more than maybe ¢.01-.03 per round. I am sure that adds up (thats the arguement right?) but I guess I just see my time as more valuable.