Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll be getting my first pistol (XDm 9 5.25) in a few weeks, and I'm looking at what all I'm going to need for cleaning and maintenance, and I'm a little lost. I see posts of people using 3 different kinds of oil/lubricant on their pistols and it makes me feel I don't know anything about the process. I thought I'd get a Hoppe's boresnake kit that has a solvent and a lubricating oil, but I hear people saying they use slide glide, froglube, etc as well...

Are all the options just different options or will I need different oils and lubricants for different pieces of the gun? I'm just beginning to look up the info, so I'm at the stage where I don't understand it very well, so any help I get here would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
6,595 Posts
You need a toothbrush, cotton tips, a bore brush with rod, patches and a patch puller and cleaner and oil.

Other things that are a good idea is a jag and bore scrubber spray. Copper remover is good to have around if you do some serious shooting or don't clean often

As far as which cleaner and lube...well who makes the best truck? Chevy? Ford?, Dodge? Toyota? Which is a better polymer pistol? XD? Glock?, M&P? Who makes the best chainsaw? Stihl? Husky? Echo?

Its really what you find to work best for you.

I prefer M-Pro, but CLP, RemOil, Hoppes #9 and the ones you listed are all good products.

What is available @ your local store or favorite online retailer? If you buy ammo @ walmart, then buy the name brand cleaner and oil @ walmart. If you live a mile from Cabelas, then hoppes might be the one for you.

Its like choosing self defense ammo, your going to need to read around here in the maintenance section and then read the manufactures website. Just because its more expensive doesn't mean its better. Also, is this a carry weapon? Is it hot or cold where you live? Lots of factors