Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,365 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the hunting thing. Have always thought of a 30-06 as a good all around rifle, however a lot of the guys here are shooting the .270 what is the difference. looking for a nice piece in the 300-650 dollar range? what do you suggest?

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
First of all welcome to the forum. I hope you will enjoy it as much as the rest of us do. My Bro-In-Law is a big time hunter and he uses 270. He primarily hunts Mule deer. He has used it on elk. So it's a good all around caliber. 30-06 is the all time classic load and is also a sweet caliber. Both loads ballistically speaking are very similar. Now if you want to be able to take down any game in North America including moose and buffalo I would say 300 win mag! Good luck!!!

·
Registered
31,246 Posts
I have both 30-06 and a 270.

The 30-06 is a pawn shop rescue 03 Springfield that I put Dad's old Weaver K4 on and refinished the wood and metal. Very accurate and I have put a few deer and pigs in the freezer with it.

The 270 is an early 80s Remington M700 BDL that wears a Leupold 3x9x40mm scope on a Redfield base. I bought this rifle at an estate auction in the mid 90s for 300 bucks, minus the scope. Did a trigger job and its been my #1 deer rifle since then. Very accurate and easier on the shoulder than the 06.

Both are good deer rounds, if you ask me. I have had VERY similar performance out of both calibers. I have found that the 270 seems to be more accurate...but the difference is slight. The 270 is also easier on the shoulder than the 06, but if you stick with the 150gr 06 ammo, its not punishing in the least. Actually, I find the 270, launching a 130gr bullet to be very pleasant for a round that gives such power. My M700 wears its stock hard plastic buttplate and it never bothers me in the least, with its recoil.