Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to shooting and just got my XMD 40 last week. I intend to use the gun for home/personal defense not high precision target shooting. As such I’m am wondering what if any modification I should have made to the gun. A lot of people seem to have gotten the Springer Combat Carry trigger job and different sights.

I’m told the tactical sights on the gun are good for my intended use as they favor fast target acquisition over long range accuracy but I thought about at least getting some night sights because if god forbid the day ever come when I need to defend myself or my home it will most likely be at night.

My first instinct is to practice with the gun for awhile and see how I like the trigger once its broken in and see just how accurate the sights on the gun are before I consider paying to have them changed but if it is certain that the gun, and I, will benefit from a trigger and/or sight job then I may as well get it done before I get used to the gun in its current setup and then have to get used to a whole new setup.

What are your thoughts?

·
Registered
2,235 Posts
I am new to shooting and just got my XMD 40 last week. I intend to use the gun for home/personal defense not high precision target shooting. As such I’m am wondering what if any modification I should have made to the gun. A lot of people seem to have gotten the Springer Combat Carry trigger job and different sights.

I’m told the tactical sights on the gun are good for my intended use as they favor fast target acquisition over long range accuracy but I thought about at least getting some night sights because if god forbid the day ever come when I need to defend myself or my home it will most likely be at night.