Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm kinda new to the range thing. I've been a half a dozen times lately and I'm shooting like 5" diameter groups at 10 yards. I know that's not great, but what is generally considered average at that distance? What's good? Nevermind,... I saw a guy the other day at the range that was good. He was shooting mostly within 1 1/2" circle pretty much anywhere. Ah,...What's average?

·
Registered
21 Posts
I'd say that if you're "new", and that you are hitting 5" groupings... you are on the right path. Keep practicing and you'll eventually see your groupings start to get closer and tighter. Keep it up!!

·
Registered
5,617 Posts
Maybe 4"?

Really, as long as you're hitting COM, you're good to go. If that 5" group is right in the middle, I wouldn't complain much. They'll get tighter as you practice more.

Once I got my flinch figured out (causing me to shoot low/left), I stopped working on "accuracy". I notice each time I go to the range I'm a little better, but they're still all on target, and are good hits.

·
Premium Member
5,314 Posts
I'm kinda new to the range thing. I've been a half a dozen times lately and I'm shooting like 5" diameter groups at 10 yards. I know that's not great, but what is generally considered average at that distance? What's good? Nevermind,... I saw a guy the other day at the range that was good. He was shooting mostly within 1 1/2" circle pretty much anywhere. Ah,...What's average?
Well average is not a good measure becaus there are good shooters and terrible ones. I can shoot on average 2 to 3 inch groups at 25 yards with most of my pistols. At 10 yards I would want to be able to shoot a group with all the bullets touching or close to it.
Pat

·
Premium Member
5,314 Posts
Maybe 4"?

Really, as long as you're hitting COM, you're good to go. If that 5" group is right in the middle, I wouldn't complain much. They'll get tighter as you practice more.