Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
875 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Last April I started competing in USPSA which stands for US Practical Shooting Association. They are affiliated with IPSC which is the world governing body for this sport. I started shooting IPSC because I wanted to be more challenged in my shooting, and I wanted to improve my shooting skills as much as possible.

Starting out I was planning to shoot my Steyr M9, but I was having some trouble locating a good holster and mag pouches. I found someone that was a selling a used XD40 here on XDtalk, he wanted $360 for the gun plus 4 mags. It was much easier finding a holster and some mag pouches for the XD. I started out shooting in the Production Division with my bone stock XD40. I felt at a slight disadvantage because most of the other guys in the Production Division were shooting 9mm and I was shooting .40 S&W., but I was shooting very well so I didn’t care. About half way through the summer I went into a slump. I wanted to blame everything but myself, but the bottom line was I was getting too cocky and taking the stages too fast. I slowed down and my scores started improving again. As my scores started to improve I decided that it was time to get rid of the .40 and get a good 9mm. Last fall I had heard about the great work that Rich at Canyon Creek can do with a XD. I started budgeting for a new XD and the gunsmithing which would cost almost as much as the gun.

After saving up my pennies and nickels I was able to purchase a brand spanking new SA XD9 Tactical model. I sent it directly to Rich so that he could get it tweaked out for me. I spared no expense and had Rich do almost everything that he could do to my new XD. I think the total time it took for Rich to work on my gun and send it back was 5 days!!

What I had done:

* Tungsten Insert Guide Rod $35.00
* Extended Magazine Release $25.00
* Skate Tape Wrap $5.00
* Full competition trigger job 2# $135