Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
This may not be anything but I'm relatively new to handguns and have just gotten back from my 2nd range trip with my new xd .45 compact. I broke it down and cleaned it and noticed some markings that I'd like to get some feed back on...it looks like the coating is coming off.

First is the gun barrel...I noticed some 'scratches'..or maybe I just don't have it cleaned enough?

$barell.jpg

Here's another picture showing silver on the recoil spring assembly and barrel:

$xd45.jpg

Then there is a line on the cover for the ejection port:

$frame.jpg

Sorry if I'm being overly paranoid here! Any ideas what this is or what is causing it?

On a side note..here is a picture of my shooting today..2nd time w/this pistol and about the 6th time ever shooting

$45xdcompact.jpg

Thanks!

·
Registered
86 Posts
i have an XD9-SC and it has the same if not worse scuffs. also the hood of the slide is worn, it has a warranty so i dont worry about it. but mine has that same brass scratch on the ejection port... not worried just curious

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i have an XD9-SC and it has the same if not worse scuffs. also the hood of the slide is worn, it has a warranty so i dont worry about it. but mine has that same brass scratch on the ejection port... not worried just curious
Just wondering...I've only put maybe 300 rounds through it.

·
Registered
5,861 Posts
Normal. You should see mine.
Barrel & guide rod, that is..... ;) :lol:

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
$frame.jpg

This is the one that bothers me...why would it have the line there..doesn't seem like it should be doing that there...it's very obvious and just doesn't seem like it is wearing right if this has happened after 300 rounds.

·
Registered
7,273 Posts
Its from the slide moving over that spot during recoil. Put another thousand rounds through it and not worry.