Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
642 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I hope this is in the right place, sorry if it is not.

I was looking at the self-defense laws of Virginia today because I realized that I need to know those as well as the carrying laws since I want to take my classes and training soon. In In Virginia, we cannot defend our property if there is threat to property,only if the BG poses a threat to me or my loved ones. Is this common? I always thought that using a gun to protect your property was legal. Any one from VA want to shed a little light on this?

Thanks,

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
[[DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT A LAWYER, DO NOT TAKE MY WORDS FOR LEGAL ADVICE]]
Sounds like you're referring to the commonly-termed "Castle Doctrine"

My understanding of current Virginia Law boils down to "proportional response" and "back against the wall".

In layman's terms, you're only justified in defending yourself with force proportional to that which is attacking you. If someone open-palm-slaps someone else, that's not justifiable cause to brandish or use lethal force; however, if the attacker then reaches behind them to grab some unseen object, then preparing lethal force becomes an option.

Justifiable defense pertains to an unprovoked attack; in this case, you are the victim and are clearly defending yourself. However, if you had any part in the provocation, then you're required to exhaust all other options (back to the wall) before escalating the force with which you respond.