Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering how many of you shoot in either of these or maybe another I don't know about? (I'm new to handguns)
How do you like it? What's your oppinion of which might be better for a first timer?
Thinking about eventually getting an XD9 Tactical. I'm guessing that I could use that in pretty-much any competition? Would an XD40 be better? Much advantage to having a Tactical vs Service model?
Thanks guys.
TH

·
Registered
3,263 Posts
I shoot uspsa production. It's fun. The key to having fun at it is not to be competetive at first, just be safe. Most clubs have cliques of the old timers but don't let it get to you. You will find most people will support and encourage you and be more than happy to answer your questions. If you want to ease your fears a little, go to a match and leave the gun at home. Just go and watch for a bit and get a feel for how your club runs things and see if it will be a fit for you and your personality. If not, there are bound to be other clubs nearby that you can shoot with.

·
Registered
342 Posts
I purchased my XD9 Tac in July and started shooting USPSA in August. I looked at both IDPA and USPSA and for me it came down to locations of matches and when they held them. I will say that I like the fact that USPSA doesn't get bogged down in shooting from concealed carry. It may be good practice but this is a game and to me it gets in the way of the fun. The XD9 is a great gun for the Production class.

The IDPA and USPSA follow different rules and one may appeal to you more than the other.

If you have the opportunity go check out a match from each. I didn't even have my gun yet when I went to watch. They'll be glad to have you and you'll learn something as well.

·
Registered
9,951 Posts
Before you judge the matches, actually go to them both, why not shoot booth. I hate IDPA but its rounds down range so I consider it practice for USPSA.

·
Registered