Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5,919 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
K, yall. I'll be graduating from law & grad school in two weeks (holy crap! it's already been three years and a hundred-brazillion dollars!?). I have a job lined up and need to find myself some living quarters.

I've been looking at rentals and cant find any that look worth anywhere near the asking price (plus, there are maybe only 10 houses in the city for rent). Based on the for sale houses I've seen, I can probably spend way less per month and get a nicer place.

Kink: I have approximately 1 sht ton of debt---enough to buy a decent house, but it's all federal student loans for law school & grad school (no CC debt, car debt, etc). Given that + the fact that I'll be salaried at about $20k/yr over the mean household income and ~$30k above median household income for the town*, what do yall think about me qualifying for a USDA loan? I have no experience or knowledge re: USDA loans (or any other than student loans)

notes: it'll be me and me alone buying (no co-signer). i'll also buy only after living in the city for a year or so, that way I know the areas of town.

*info from factfinder2.census.gov
based on census info, I found that only about 6k of the nearly 15k people are in the labor force...kinda low.

·
Registered
8,711 Posts
When you say USDA do you mean FHA ?
Usually FHA will loan to someone in your position but there are extra requirements to be met, not to mention the house you chose will have to meet certain criteria.
My advice would be to get in touch with your bank, or a realtor to find out your options.

·
Registered
5,919 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
When you say USDA do you mean FHA ?
Usually FHA will loan to someone in your position but there are extra requirements to be met, not to mention the house you chose will have to meet certain criteria.
My advice would be to get in touch with your bank, or a realtor to find out your options.