Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My XD40 Service model is at Springfield right now getting fixed and having Trijicon sights installed.

BUT, I was thinking, after seeing their Custom XD packages and options I wonder if I can get them to modify it further to enhance the things I am most interested in, namely, home defense and accuracy and maybe using it in tactical competition in the future.

They offer a match Bar Sto barrel for $250. Would this be a wise choice to improve accuracy...besides technique improvement and practice?

They also offer: "Refit factory barrel for match grade accuracy" for $90.

They also offer a 4-4.5lb "combat action job". This sounds good also.

Any comments or experiences with these mods?

I'm new to gun modifications so please have mercy if I'm way off base.

Thanks for any help,
Tom

·
Registered
477 Posts
I'm new to this stuff too, but I've spent a lot of time reading over this board. I think the answers you will get will be along the lines of:
1) Leave the barrel alone, it is probably more accurate than you are and your money would be better spent on more ammo.
2) If you want trigger work done, then send it to Canyon Creek. I haven't read a single bad thing about their work and one of their trigger jobs is on my wishlist.

good luck.

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
to enhance the things I am most interested in, namely, home defense and accuracy and maybe using it in tactical competition in the future.
Try a case of ammunition, targets, and range time to shoot it up. All that other crap is incidental if you're a good enough shot, and running the gun is second nature to you.

·
Registered
3,473 Posts
invssgt said:
to enhance the things I am most interested in, namely, home defense and accuracy and maybe using it in tactical competition in the future.