Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was told the first couple of hundred rounds in a new gun should be lower power ammo to break it in. I am new to guns in general so I ask is this true?

Just got a XDM 40 a few days ago :D. Have not taken it to the range as of yet :cry:…
Should I ask for lower power loads?

Any break in suggestions?
I am planning to give the barrel a quick cleaning before I take it to the range.

·
Registered
2,712 Posts
It's urban legend.

They're ready to rock, right outta the box.

·
Premium Member
13,498 Posts
Was told the first couple of hundred rounds in a new gun should be lower power ammo to break it in. I am new to guns in general so I ask is this true?

Just got a XDM 40 a few days ago :D. Have not taken it to the range as of yet :cry:…
Should I ask for lower power loads?

Any break in suggestions?
I am planning to give the barrel a quick cleaning before I take it to the range.
Urban legend. Most are good to go but I make it a point to shoot ball ammo for the first 2-300 and then feed them whatever ammo I feel like after that. If the gun can't handle that then I don't want it.

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
My first trip to the range with my new XD .40. 100 rounds of Winchester, and 20 rounds of Corbon HPS's no problem.

·
Premium Member
2,050 Posts
Urban legend. Most are good to go but I make it a point to shoot ball ammo for the first 2-300 and then feed them whatever ammo I feel like after that. If the gun can't handle that then I don't want it.
I think that's the important part right there. Start it off with the easy stuff. Although with the XD, maybe not as necessary.

·
Premium Member
2,050 Posts
Please explain the reasoning behind this. What is it that one is trying to do....build up the gun's muscle to handle full house rounds? :confused: