Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
14,544 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this whole thing. Got my 1st pistol in early Feb, have since bought a couple more, took an AZ CCW class and a fundamentals of shooting class. Other than that it's been what I've learned on here, Guntalk, videos online (learn a lot of what not to do there as well). I do alright on paper targets with weekly trips to the range.

I just got back from defensive handgun training class and I'm really glad I did. It was two eight hour days. Class size was 13 people with 3 teachers, one main guy and two helpers. They were professional, friendly, & very watchful.

It gave me the opportunity to do things I haven't really been able to do. ie: moving & shooting, close quaters (arm's length away) shooting, shooting from behind cover, team & individual competions. There were also holster draw, trigger control & malfunction drills.

Beyond needing to practice what I learned, I came away with three thoughts: 1)Anybody who hasn't done this really should. 2)I have more confidence in my abilities. 3)This is just the tip of the iceberg, There's so much more to learn.

About thought one, it wasn't that expensive....$250 and it was local. The local part is a living in Arizona bonus, I'm sure. Going to the range is necessary, but this was an experience I can't get there.

As an aside, my XDM .40 performed flawlessly. There were dust devils blowing up quite a bit of sand today, yesterday was well over 90. Went through about 500 rounds. This brings it to right around 3000 rounds with one jam and that happened the 1st time i shot it with my left hand...I'm a righty.

·
Premium Member
14,544 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah man, it's like the motorcycle bug. Hard to get rid of and why would you. Had it for 27 years now.

My brother thinks the gun thing is funny and wonders where I've been for for the last few decades. He's into guns. I sold him his 1st bike.