Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4,949 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I've decided the only way I can afford my habbit is to roll my own.

My dad has a RCBS rockchucker "set" that if I remember right uncluded a scale, press, case trimmer....? I'll have to see what else. What else would I need to get started. I'd love to upgrade to a dillon or something like that but for now I have to at least learn on something!

So basically what do I need to know to get started? Obviously I'll read the books that are with it but I was wondering if you guys had any advice or wisdom to share with a total newbie.

Also can you suggest primers/powder that works well for both 9mm and .40?

I don't think their is a tumbler so I'll probably do the hand washing thing and lay them in the sun to dry. any other tips on cleaning brass without a tumbler?

If anyone has an basic loading data for 9mm or .40 that I could use as a starting point that would be good too.

Thanks,

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
For cleaning brass try a gallon of hot water, dishwashing soap and a 1/2 or 1/4 cup of vinager. If your just starting out with reloading try using some slow burning powder like Bluedot or Universal once you get the hang of it then move on to faster burning powder saves money. It's too easy to double charge with fast powder when your starting out. Check out the powder websites they all have free loading data.

·
Registered
3,473 Posts
Thier are many places to buy cleaned brass I bought 1500 rounds of 40 cal nickle on ebay with shipping for 19.00
You must have Cailpers Digital or analog if you no how to read them.
Powder scale
I use winchester primers [dillon reccomended them]
Univesal clays made by hodgdon 19.00/pound
I have the speer 13 if you need some load data let me know and I will post some

·
Premium Member
3,601 Posts
Get a good, modern load book and you should be able to find several powders that you can use in both 9mm and 40.