Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I've decided that I would like to do a detailed disassembly of my XD or at least the slide and maybe the frame too if all goes well with the slide. I've looked at ajames' site with the instructions for detailed disassembly and I'm pretty confident that I can do it, but the part I'm not so sure about is tools. The Safety and Required Tools section on ajames' site isn't much help. I know I could go through his instructions and make a list of everything that I will need, but I was wondering if there is a kit or something that includes all, or at least most, of the things that I will need. I'm new to the gun hobby so if a kit has parts that I won't need for disassembling my XD but has parts that are commonly used on other guns, then that is fine.

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

jonas

·
Banned
11,479 Posts
Personally I'm a big fan of if it ain't broke don't fix it. I think if you were truly interested in this project you would be more than willing to make a list of tools needed off James website. Are you willing to go look for the springs or other very small parts that may very well go flying across the room? Are you a patient person? Are you willing to wait forever for parts you lose because they may be on Springfield's do not sell list? Are you mechanically inclined? There's a lot more to it than a toolkit. I'm not against anyone learning to do this if they have enough confidence. If you decide to do it I wish you the best of luck.

·
Registered
54 Posts
i haven't really taken a close look, but i bet most of the things you need are specific sized punches. I've found (in other applications than guns...) often an allen wrench will fit almost perfectly and is much easier to obtain.

I too would like to do a total strip of mine... even though I don't need to AT ALL... I just love takin stuff apart..

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter #4