Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a very happy and satisfied owner of an XD45SCP Service. Love the gun, no issues whatsoever. I recently started shooting matches and plan on shooting alot more of them. I figure I need to make two major changes:

1) 45ACP is expensive! I can't help but think that every pull of the trigger is equivalent to throwing a quarter down range. While I do reload, I think I'd just as soon be able to shoot a cheaper, smaller round out of the box.

2) An extra inch of sight radius would be very nice.

So I've been looking at some STI and Para race guns, but I really think I'd prefer to use a more 'standard' pistol. I love my current XD, so a new XD might be just the ticket.

I'm considering an XD tactical in 9MM or 40. My other option would be the XDM in 40 with a conversion barrel, or just wait until the 9MM is available.

Any USPSA/IDPA shooters using the tactical or the XDM that would like to share their thoughts?

Mods after the fact would be a new trigger and maybe some new sights.

·
Registered
245 Posts
If it was me id go with the M. I'd be split between 40, cause i already have one and keeps ammo simple, and the 9 to have 19+1 and cheap ammo. my .02

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
Sounds like your best bet is a 9mm. The xdm is an awesome pistol, but .40 isn't any cheaper than .45 so your not gaining anything by going that route.

Basically I would say it depends on whether you want to get the pistol asap, in which case I say go for the 9mm tactical, or if you would be willing to wait till the xdm comes out in 9mm. Personally I would wait till the xdm 9mm came out, but your mileage may vary. . .

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #5