Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all - Newbie here. I planning on a new purchase and the XD40 looks like a winner. Considering the Glock 23 or Sig 229 DS too. Would appreciate any feedback on it . I would be using it at the range and desert stormin' with my buds and of course home defense. Sell me on the XD people! I'm going to the Gunstore today... desert storming tomorrow.

Vegas Dude

Ruger KP-94 9mm
Ruger 22/45 MKIII Target

soon to be Springfield XD-40 owner

·
Registered
59 Posts
Shoots great, feels alot better than the glock, costs way less than the sig.
Seriously I don't know how you can go wrong owning one. I've had my service model .40 a few days now and everyone that has held it commented favorably on it. Go for it.

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
Welcome to the board.
I've had the XD9 Subcompact for over a year and it has been flawless. Just traded my Beretta 96 for the XD-40. I could never shoot the Beretta that well but the XD-40 is a different story. Finally have been able to punch large holes in the target at 7 and 10 yards. It fits my hand much better than the Beretta did. I'm not knocking the Beretta, it was the beauty piece of my collection. You won't regret the purchase of any XD pistol.

Springfield is running a nice package right now. The XD-40 in a carrying case, 3 hi cap magazines, the XD-Gear holster, and cable style lock.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Wow- You guys are quick on the replies - Great board! Thanks for the welcome too! I've shot the G23 and I couldn't control the thing. It was a great experience shooting it but too much recoil. I'm not a big guy, 5'8" and 155 lbs. medium grip. How's the recoil on the XD-40 compared to the G23 if anyone of you all happen to know?

Vegas Dude

·
Registered
242 Posts
XD's are great! They feel so good in your hands and definitely feels better than a Glock. Havent shot mine yet since I just got it a couple of hours ago.