Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been shooting handguns for a few years. Just recently have been getting more and more interested in competition. I have always been a decent shot. I can score an average of 97% in the police qualification but lately I have been concentrating on form and function of my shooting skills. As I have stated in the title I am one of the cursed right handed people that have left eye dominance.
My problem is this, the last few times at the range I have been noticing I have been consistently shooting left. I figured it was my new XDm but I had my buddy try it and he was balls on. (Isn't it frustrating when your friends can shoot your new gun better than you)? Any way I came home and after cleaning I was doing a bit of dry firing and was paying particular attention to my form and what happens when I pull the trigger. In order to utilize my left eye when I shoot right handed I am noticing that the pistol is not in line with my forearm and when I pull the trigger my hand naturally tries to line up the gun, therefore, shooting a bit left.

I know there are others out there that have this same curse and am hoping that someone has worked through this problem. Looking for a few tips to correct.

Thanks
Otis

·
Registered
693 Posts
I'm the same way but what I think you need to do... if you aren't... is turn your head to the right so your left eye looking straight down your arm and the sights. Just a thought. :)

·
Registered
2,620 Posts
Eye dominance shouldn't matter when shooting handguns. I'm a righty with left-eye dominance, no biggy. The gun will naturally align with your left eye, don't fight it.

On the sporting clays course, it's a curse because I'm so left-dominant I have to close that eye and then I lose depth perception as well as being hampered at left-right crossers since I can't pick them up early.