Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been looking for subsonic 40 s/w ammo for a while now, and the heaviest bullet I could find is 180g and runs at about 980ft/s at muzzle.

Is there any other bullet in 40 s/w that is heavier and travels slower? Maybe 900 ft/s....?

·
Registered
471 Posts
My question is WHY????

If you want subsonic go with 45ACP.

-Dana

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thank you overkill.

I have an xd-40. I am in the process of obtaining a suppressor for it. I need subsonic bullets to maximize the suppression.

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
Maybe I'm wrong but isn't the speed of sound about 1100 fps most 180gr factory loads are 970-990 fps that would make them subsonic. You could reload for lower speeds.

·
Registered
1,454 Posts
I'm new to firearms and all... so my stupid question will be... why would you want a round that's heavier and slower??? What's wrong with the 165g at 1150 fps???

·
Premium Member
430 Posts
Speer Gold Dot 40 S&W 180 Grain Jacketed Hollow Point Travels @ 985FPS with 400FT/LBs of Muzzle Energy.

PMC Gold 40 S&W 180 Grain Starfire Hollow Point Travels @ 985 FPS with 388FT/LBs of Muzzle Energy

Hornady TAP Personal Defense Ammunition 40 S&W 180 Grain Jacketed Hollow Point Travels @ 950FPS with 361FT/LBs of Muzzle Energy.

Hornady Custom Ammunition 40 S&W 180 Grain Jacketed Hollow Point XTP Travels @ 950FPS with 361FT/LBs of Muzzle Energy

I researched for a little bit and found those options for you. I went with all Hollow Points and top quality ones at that, which have been field proven. I personally use the Speer Gold Dot 180 Grains. I believe it travels suffiently slow enough for your purposes.

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
Speer Gold Dot 40 S&W 180 Grain Jacketed Hollow Point Travels @ 985FPS with 400FT/LBs of Muzzle Energy.

PMC Gold 40 S&W 180 Grain Starfire Hollow Point Travels @ 985 FPS with 388FT/LBs of Muzzle Energy