Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my XDM Elite in 9mm about 4 months ago and could not find ammo. So I bought 400 rounds not knowing it was steel. I have shot most of it (maybe less than 100 rounds left) while slowly buying more non steel 9mm. Still the expense of both finding and affording 9mm ammo has kept me from shooting my XD much. Someone has just offered me some steel 9mm. I am new to shooting and ignorant of certain things. I do know loading steel with my XTS speed loader is harder.

Is putting steel through an XD bad idea? Are there parts that wear out as a result that can be easily replaced or would shooting steel wear out all parts of my XD?

·
Registered
67 Posts
My concern with steel ammo has less to do with its safety or wear to the pistol and more to do with its quality. Most tends to be on the low end of quality meaning it's less accurate (not really a major issue given my meager shooting skills) and dirtier requiring more frequent thorough cleaning. Some also has steel core bullets which doesn't go over too well at a lot of indoor ranges as they can damage the back stops. If you see sparks when you bullet strikes the back stop, you've got steel cores.

I get the temptation to get ammo from anywhere these days, especially for a new pistol (I also bought an XDM Elite within the last 7 or 8 months), but I can't justify paying nearly 4 times what that ammo was selling for 18 months ago especially if it's low quality. Shoot what you have judiciously and without worrying about your gun and don't give in to the price gougers.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
My concern with steel ammo has less to do with its safety or wear to the pistol and more to do with its quality. Most tends to be on the low end of quality meaning it's less accurate.
That's my favorite part of steel ammo, I can claim "Normally my groupings are about 2" but since I am shooting steel today....."