Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm new to this and not sure if I'm posting this in the right place, I apologize if not. Anyways I own an XD40SC and the gun has been absolutely amazing until something happened to cause it to fire sending a 40 cal hollow point through my left palm.

The day it happened I was in my bathroom getting dressed, my XD was sitting on the counter by the sink, and like always I put on my belt, holster and everything with my gun being holstered last. I'm right handed but holster/carry on my left side (cross draw) cause I've always worn my phone clip on my belt on my right and didnt want to reach for my gun everytime my phone rang. Well as I was standing in front of my sink, I reached with my right hand and picked up my gun with my finger straight and away from the trigger and placed my left hand over the sight attempting to put it in the holster. However the second I gripped the handle and the GS was pressed the gun fired, sending the bullet through my left palm and out the side of my hand between my pinky and wrist bone. Luckily no nerves, tendons, arteries, or bones were hit. Just muscle and fat. Also I'm extremely thankful I'm the only person that suffered any injury.

I'm extremely cautious and OCD when it comes to firearm safety, have been carrying for many years, and I'm 100% certain I didn't pull the trigger. I was always adamant saying guns don't just go off and what not until I experienced this situation.

Ive found a couple articles online with similar events but no speculation of what might have caused it. I'm asking for help/opinions of what could have possibly caused this to happen?

Thank for your time.

·
Registered
143 Posts
I would contact Springfield and maybe they could check the gun for you and others in case there needs to be a recall. I'm not doughting you when I say Springfield could check it. Glad you are ok and no one else was injured

·
Registered