Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How'd this happen? This was a 9mm reload 115gr plated round nose at 1.100 with 4.7 grains of Winchester 231. Im fairly new to reloading I've only reloaded a couple thousand rounds. I've never seen this before.
1414974085034.jpg

·
Registered
10,949 Posts
Wait for the reloading authorities.

·
Registered
2,371 Posts
Does this happen to be ammoland or ammoload brass?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Actually yes, it was originally new 9mm from freedom. So this would be the first re load in that case.

·
Registered
2,743 Posts
There are way more people on this forum that should be answering, but I want to toss my idea out and see how far off I am when they show up....lol

Could this be the result of too tight of a taper crimp combined with a weak case? It looks like the case split right where the base of a 115gr RN would sit when seated correctly. That might account for how uniform the split is all the way around the case if it opened up at the base of the projectile? I have no clue. The logical side of my brain is yelling that you would experience a case head separation before the case would split like that...so idk...

I'm sure the reloading gurus will want more info, so make sure you post up the type of brass this is and how many times it's been fired (or is this a random range pickup? If so I'd say that's your answer...) and anything else you can think of.

Subscribed for results.

·
Registered
2,371 Posts
Ammoload cases have a thicker wall towards the bottom of the case. I don't know if that is for reinforcement or for seating depth consistency out of the factory. As you can see right where the split is, is where the case gets thicker. My guess would be a combination of a hot load (Are you loading them fast/hot/towards the max grains allowed for your powder?) as well as a defect in the case i.e thin wall where the case begins getting thicker.