Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11,047 Posts
Just shoot it.

If it was designed and produced for the gas piston that is on it, it should be fine. If you have problems, then I might suggest getting rid of it.

I'm thinking that the issue that weapons converted from gas tube to gas piston is that the gas tube probably uses more gas since it has to maintain adequate pressure while expanding inside the tube. Short stroke gas pistons don't need to move as far so they should need less gas. Too much gas on the piston will produce excessively harsh forces on the rifle.

I'm not an expert on the subject, but this seems reasonable to me.

Any other opinions?

·
Premium Member
353 Posts
Just shoot it.

If it was designed and produced for the gas piston that is on it, it should be fine. If you have problems, then I might suggest getting rid of it.

I'm thinking that the issue that weapons converted from gas tube to gas piston is that the gas tube probably uses more gas since it has to maintain adequate pressure while expanding inside the tube. Short stroke gas pistons don't need to move as far so they should need less gas. Too much gas on the piston will produce excessively harsh forces on the rifle.

I'm not an expert on the subject, but this seems reasonable to me.

Any other opinions?

I must be missing something here, because I don't recall seeing anything in the OP or the link that mentions a gas piston system, whether it be original or a conversion.

I think what the OP is getting at is he is hearing negative things about the carbine length gas tube systems being harder on the internals than mid length or rifle length systems. While this is true to some extent, the carbine length systems are tried and true.