Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys.

Don't know how much of a problem this is.
First I'm a total newbie on gunsmithing.

Installed the prp Drop In kit last night on my XDM compact 9mm 3.8"

Mostly went well until I had to put back the Locking block.
The rear of the block was a bit tight & hard to position over the new trigger.
Front went down easy and lined up easy to push pin back in.
Rear was very difficult to line up holes through block and trigger.

Had to mess with a smaller punch pin on left side for a while to get the holes lined up. Eventually got pin back in.
In the YouTube video his block just drops in easy on both ends. No problem.

When replacing the slide it went over the rails on locking lock fine but when it came to the rear rails- the polymer rails on frame- it stopped.
Just slightly hitting the rail on left side. By pushing the slide just a bit with right thumb it went over rail.
I removed slide and oiled the rails, did again. Still hitting on left. Very slight. Could be 1/64" or less. Contact still. But better.
I dry fired a number of times and took slide off. & on a few more. Seems to be better. New trigger breaks & resets fine (really NICE) now & can't wait to get to range.
But I'm concerned that it touches the rail at all. I assume that if it stays that way it will wear the rail unevenly. Or slow the slide down.
I'm trying to figure how its possible to be different now.
All the parts seem to be in place. But my inexperienced eye may have missed something.
My first thought is that somehow the locking block is out of alignment - because it was so tight going in on the back. But once the pins are punched back there's no room for wiggle.
Any thoughts here?
I sent a note to PRP, but it's the weekend and I may not hear back from them until Monday.

·
Registered
78 Posts