Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
XDM 4.5" 9mm 19rd
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went shooting last week and cleaned my two XD's this morning. I know I am new at it and have yet to get into a good rhythm/process but it took me approx 45 minutes each to clean them. How long should this take to field strip, clean with solvent, lubricate, and reassemble? Anyone have any tips to speed up the process?

·
Registered
681 Posts
Your supposed to clean them??
All kidding aside, I just field strip, bore snake the bbl a couple of times, wipe off dust or residue with a rag, lightly oil and re-assemble. Took me longer to type this. :D If it’s Really grungy, yeah I’ll take more time but they really don’t need allot of maintenance, hence the name Extreme Duty.

·
Registered
1,043 Posts
The last time I cleaned mine, it took about an hour. But I ended up pulling the trigger out and some internal pieces, as it was so dirty the trigger had some issues resetting. Typically takes about 10 minutes or so, like hngnhunter said field strip, bore brush, couple of patches, and some light oil and it’s good to go.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5,805 Posts
For only a field strip and clean - 5 minutes.

Deeper, more detail = more time.

·
Registered
121 Posts
My thought is--if you're having to learn HOW to do the thing WHILE you're doing the thing, then it's gonna take longer, whatever "it" is.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Typically 10 minutes, and most of that is just letting the solvent do its job.

Again, dirtier / longer between cleanings = more time.

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
I clean it after I shoot it. If it's a carry gun I clean it sometimes between shooting it (gets pretty dirty sometimes with all the outside work I do/what I do).

I'm not a bit interested in waiting till it begins to malfunction to tell me it should be cleaned.