Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
712 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went out to the local match today, had a great time. The stages had a focus on strong/weak hand shooting, something I haven't really had the chance to practice. Felt weird not using my traditional Weaver grip, but I didn't think I did too bad. I'm getting the hang of planning my moves in Production, I find it runs a lot like a trail course on horseback, so I love the mental aspect of it. Still trying to get my times down, but I haven't shot in a month. I'm definitely looking at a DGR and maybe new sights with a significantly thinner front sight. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Shoot every match you can. Ask other shooters what mods they have done. Find a range to practice at that allows holster work and two shot rapid fire. Do 15 minutes of dry fire practice as often as you can...

I've been shooting USPSA for 5 months now and love it!

·
Registered
688 Posts
Never reload standing still. Always reload when moving from place to place. Standing reloads are real time killers. It may make perfect sense to do a reload after only firing 4 or 6 shots, depending on the COF. Change the mag as you move to your next position and arrive with a full mag. You are going to have a blast !!!!

·
Registered
712 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm a big fan of dry-fire for trigger control, I practice reloads at home with empty mags (just working on finding the magwell without disturbing my focus downrange- muscle memory). A lot of the guys go to a local range on Mondays and Wednesdays, great for me because I have wednesday off if I don't decide to work in my other department. The other shooters are real upstanding folks.

My big problem is getting back on target quickly, I'm going to really start focusing on my front sight and picking my sight picture up faster.

·
Registered
968 Posts