Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6,551 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. This is my first range report. I took my new XD-9 to the range this weekend. It was my first time shooting it, and only my second time shooting anything ever (ok, we won't count my BB gun when I was a boy). I am a pure newbie at shooting a gun. I will try not to bore all of you with all the details; just what's important.

I had gone to a range to rent (test) a Glock and an XD-9 SC back near Father's Day. All targets were placed at 15 feet. I tried the Glock 9mm first. (I'd include pictures of the targets, but I don't know how to put them into my text here. :( ) The Glock didn't feel good in my hand, so my grouping was really bad. I did MUCH better with the XD. It felt right, and was comfortable. I had a 1.75" grouping of about 8 shots inside the red bullseye area, and also a lot of shots in the black (down and to the left, about 4" from center bulls-eye).

Then, I went shooting this past Saturday and Sunday with my XD-9 SC. On Saturday, I put 200 rounds through many targets (10 rounds each target, all 15 feet away). Saturday's shooting was bad: my best being a 3" grouping of 6 shots centered around the bulls-eye, with 2 shots almost 4" from center, and 2 shots just off the target. :( The worst target was with only 1 shot even close to center (2.25" away), and all other shots to the lower left, at least 4" from center.

Sunday's shooting was better overall (although my worse target ended up with all shot scattered all around the outer rings, closest shot being 1.25" from center bulls-eye). My best grouping was towards the end, when I got all 10 shots within a 2" group, off center from bulls-eye by about 1" to the lower left(!). But I feel like this was a fluke, compared to ALL my other results. I had shot 130 rounds that day.

At least I'm consistent when I miss the center and shoot towards the lower left. Does that indicate anything important to anyone?