Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Without paying too much attention, I recently bought a couple boxes of Speer Gold Dot 124-grain short barrel hollow points for my XD 9 compact (4-inch barrel). The side of the box says this ammo is designed to "maximize optimum expansion in handguns with 2 inch barrels." Since my 4-inch barrel's not exactly short, what can I expect from these rounds? Should shoot okay?

Pardon me if this is a dumb question, but I'm fairly new to shooting (except for my old 20-gauge) and to forums.

·
Registered
130 Posts
I have and do use the short barrel ammo for 3" and 4" handguns. It does shoot very well out of a 4" revolver and a 4" semi auto. It also expands out of the above ( in water) very good. You could expect a little increase of the FPS out of the 4", but it will not be so much faster as to upset the ballastics of the bullet.

·
Premium Member
5,354 Posts
Welcome jackrabbit. That ammo will be fine in your XD. You mentioned it was a 9mm compact with a 4" barrel...that doesn't exist. It is either a Sub Compact (3") or Service (4"). I have both a SC and a Svc, and I have used the 124g short barrel Gold Dots through both without any problems.

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
The bullets will shoot OK the thing is they are designed to expand at a bit slower velocities. Let's say 50 fps per inch of barrel so you might get jacket seperation and bullet fragmentation or over penetration at the slightly faster velocities. More than likely they will function as designed.

·
Premium Member
8,922 Posts
Welcome from UT!

These guys are crazy. I think you should send me the ammo and I will let you know how it works. J/k.

Seriously, You'll be fine. You might want to inspect the barrel though after shooting and make sure that everything is ok just to be sure.

·
Registered
776 Posts