Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just had this thought the other day about realoading mix brass. I've been realoding 9MM for a few months and getting ready to reload 45 ACP along with 380 auto. Does seperate by headstamp make any difference when it comes to accuracy? For example, if I were to shoot only Federal brass vs having 19 rounds in a magazine that include, Federal, Winchester, Speer, Remington. Would I get more accuracy with just sticking to just one brand? I know this might be a dumb question since I haven't noticed any diffence. Would it be a waste of time and money for someone to select just one brand and realoding? I understand that certain brass such as 45 ACP someone would seperate brass that has has small vs large primer, or 9MM you are picking out the crimped primer brass. Those type I can see sperating. My type of shooting would be trying to improve hitting paper target from 20-25 yards.

·
Registered
921 Posts
If you are a bullseye shooter then sorting brass will give you an extra thousandth in accuracy/consistence you may need to win...but for general tactical or target shooting, it will make no difference whatsoever.

·
Registered
5,892 Posts
I have mixed opinions (ha, a pun there)

when got into reloading, started with 9mm using FMJ. Never bothered to separate brass by headstamp, never seemed to be an issue.

when I added 44Mag and a bit latter added 41Mag, all my brass was same brand for each so that was easy

this year, after getting my Ruger SR1911, I did not bother separating by headstamps when started with FMJs. But not long until decided to use lead SWCs to save some more $, and for that nice big smooth hole in paper. Had some crimp issues, thought it might be variance between headstamps, so started to separate the 45s. No more crimp issues.

·
Registered
12,197 Posts