Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. Let me explain my background a little. I am 32 years old and I am just getting into guns. I have fired a few rifles many, many, many years ago with my father and I recently rented/borrowed a few pistols to shoot at the range. I have rented sigs, glocks, SWs, and XDs. I want to get a pistol that I can carry (after I get my Concealed license) that I can also use to protect me and my family in our house but I want something SAFE. I have a wife and a 10 year old son to think about. I love the XD 40cal sub-compact but I'm having a hard time thinking its safe with the firing pin pulled back ready to go. I know the XDs have 4 safeties but my mind keeps telling me to go with a double action since the pin is at rest and it has a heavier trigger pull.
Should I go with a double action or are you guys going to convince me the XD is safe, safe, safe when it's in a holster properly secured. Any examples of stories that show how safe these XDs are would be great.

Also I have a fear of guns just because I have not been exposed to them. In the past few weeks shooting I have overcome my fear and feel more comfortable around them but there a little bit of me that needs more exposure to completely overcome this fear.

Please be honest!

Thanks and this site is great and I have learned a lot!

·
Registered
3,473 Posts
I just encounterd this question first off I hve had my cpl for 4 years and an Xd for three of those.Cocked and locked is the only way to carry.
Hard holster kydex for me I like the ctac
Been ready to go for 3 years never even close to an acidental disscharge.
I get up and put it on holster and all every day even when I am not leaving the house.When I go to bed it goes in the head board holster and all.